Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Fri Jan 11
7:35 PM
Morrisville
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 18
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
7:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
Sun Jan 06
4:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Fri Jan 11
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Sat Jan 12
7:00 PM
Salem St.
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 15
7:00 PM
Williams
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Wed Feb 27
5:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
5:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
TBA
Adams St.
vs. Salve Regina
@ Colorado Spring, Colo.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
TBA
Simmons
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
TBA
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
TBA
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Mon Mar 25
TBA
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
TBA
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Scots stun Seahawks in OT

Scots stun Seahawks in OT

SEAHAWK WOMEN'S LACROSSE RESULTS

Gordon 13, Salve Regina 12
Middletown, R.I. – Gaudet Field
Saturday, April 29, 2017

Summary
Senior attack Anna Rourke (Hamilton, Mass.) scored 57 seconds into overtime to give the Gordon College women's lacrosse team a dramatic 13-12 victory over Salve Regina University in the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) semifinals.

Series and Streaks
This was the 22nd meeting between the teams all-time. The Scots now own a 20-2 record over the Seahawks.

Three Stars of the Game

  1. Gordon sophomore Olivia McCarrick (Glen Burnie, Md.) -scored six times and dished out two assists including one on the game-winning score.
  2. Salve Regina freshman Maddie Villareal (Portsmouth, R.I.) - scored four times and handed out one assist.
  3. Gordon senior Anna Rourke - scored twice, and had two assists. Her goal with 2:07 left in overtime advanced the Scots to the semifinals.

Turning Point
The Scots had the only possession of overtime and did not want to give Salve Regina a chance in the extra frame. Brenna Peterson (Lebanon, N.H.) won the draw to begin overtime, then 57 seconds later Olivia McCarrick found Rourke free in front and she buried the game-winner for the Scots.

Key Stat of the Game
The Scots won more than twice as many draws as the Seahawks, 19-8, 8-2 in the second half, helping the Scots chew up time as the Seahawks looked to battle back in the game.

Quick Hits

  • The Seahawks jumped out to a 3-0 lead 6:17 into the game on two goals from Villareal and a score from senior captain Courtney Moulton (Merrimack, N.H.)
  • The Scots outscored the Seahawks 9-3 the remained of the half to lead 9-6 at halftime.
  • In the second half the Seahawks scored the first three goals of the frame to knot the game at 9-9 when Katie Kline (Brookfield, Conn.) scored with 21:50 remaining.
  • Every time the Seahawks tied the game however the Scots answered to retake the lead, constantly leaving the Seahawks with an uphill battle. The teams continued to alternate scores as the Seahawks tied it four separate times without taking the lead. 
  • With under two minutes left in the half, and the scored tied 12-12, the Scots had possession and wanted to hold for a final shot to win the game in regulation. Off a free position attempted with 30 seconds left Amanda Lachat (South Hadley, Mass.) forced a turnover from McCarrick. With no timeouts the Seahawks tried to race up the field quickly. A shot from Villareal in a crowd of players tumbled past the left post and rolled out of bounds with one second left. The Seahawks retained possession and Kaitlin Gillespie (Haddam, Conn.) lobbed the ball to the front of the net, hoping for a tip in from Katie Kline, but the ball was batted into the ground at the buzzer.

Next up
Salve Regina (9-7) - eliminated from the CCC Tournament
Gordon (9-8) - advances to face Endicott College in the semifinals on Wednesday, May 3, time TBA