Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Sat Dec 29
1:00 PM
St. Joseph (Conn.)
Salve Regina
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sun Dec 30
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Babson
Babson Tournament
Mon Dec 31
TBA
Babson Tournament
vs. Salve Regina
@ Wellesley, Mass. Babson Tournament
Thu Jan 03
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 08
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Thu Jan 10
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 04
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Oswego
Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Sat Jan 05
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. TBD
@ Oswego, N.Y. Pathfinder Bank/Oswego State Hockey Tournament
Fri Jan 11
7:35 PM
Morrisville
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 18
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
7:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Jan 05
7:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
Salve Regina
Sun Jan 06
4:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Johnson & Wales (RI)
Fri Jan 11
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Sat Jan 12
7:00 PM
Salem St.
Salve Regina
Tue Jan 15
7:00 PM
Williams
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 23
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Salem St.
Wed Feb 27
5:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
5:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
TBA
Adams St.
vs. Salve Regina
@ Colorado Spring, Colo.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
TBA
Simmons
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
TBA
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
TBA
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Mon Mar 25
TBA
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
TBA
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Streaking Seahawks soar past Sharks in second-half

Caroline Dupre carries the ball in Salve Regina's 22-12 victory over Simmons.
Caroline Dupre carries the ball in Salve Regina's 22-12 victory over Simmons.

SEAHAWK WOMEN'S LACROSSE RESULTS

Salve Regina 22, Simmons 12
Middletown, R.I. – Gaudet Field
Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Summary
The Salve Regina University women's lacrosse team outscored Simmons College 13-3 in the second half on its way to a fourth straight victory by a 22-12 final Tuesday in non-conference action.

Series and Streaks
This was the fourth meeting between the teams. The Seahawks now own a 3-1 record in the all-time series.

Three Stars of the Game
1 – Salve Regina freshman Maddie Villareal (Portsmouth, R.I.) - scored seven goals and added two assists. She has at least three goals in every game this season.
2 – Salve Regina junior Katie Kline (Brookefield, Conn.) - scored six times and won seven draw controls.
3 – Simmons junior Kasey Fries (Bridgewater, Mass,) - scored four goals and handed out one assist.

Key Stat of the Game
The Seahawks outshot the Sharks 45-16, 24-5 in the second half.

Turning Point
After a back and fourth first half where neither team could build a lead larger than two goals, the score was tied 9-9. The Seahawks were outshooting the Sharks, but turned the ball over eight times and were only 1-5 in free position shots while Simmons turned the ball over just four times and went 4-4 with free position shots in the first half. The Seahawks flipped that script quickly in the second half. Maddie Villareal scored off free position to open the scoring, then scored again 30 seconds later to reestablish a two score lead for the Seahawks. Lindsey Smith (North Attleboro, Mass.) notched a free position goal shortly afterwards, forcing a Simmons timeout. The teams exchanged scores for a 13-10 mark in favor of Salve Regina before the Seahawks ripped off six straight to blow open the game.

Quick Hits

  • Elena Bragg (Belmont, Mass.) scored 38 seconds into the game to give the Sharks a 1-0 lead. The teams continued to trade goals as the Seahawks would tie the game, only to fall behind once again by a single goal. After Villareal scored to tie the game 5-5, Sara Rademacher (North Haven, Conn.) was issued a yellow card and the Seahawks capitalized. Kaitlin Gillespie (Haddam, Conn.) scored the first consecutive goals of the game for either side and the Seahawks lead 6-5. They never trailed again.
  • Bridget Newbury (Bridgewater, Mass.) made three saves to improve to 5-1 in net for the Seahawks.
  • Kenzie Rogers (Bourne, Mass.) made seven saves in the loss before being relieved by Cheyenne Yeager (Indiana, Pa.) who recorded one save in around 14 minutes of action.
  • The Seahawks have now scored 22 or more goals in three straight games.
  • The Seahawks have outscored their opponents 67-25 in the last three games.
  • Seven different players scored for the Seahawks.

Next up
Salve Regina (5-1, 1-0 CCC) – Thursday, March 30 at Johnson & Wales, 7 p.m.
Simmons (3-5) – Saturday, April 1, vs Lasell, 1 p.m.