Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Suffolk
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
Cave Classic Tournament
Fri Nov 22
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Fri Nov 22
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Nov 23
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Cave Classic Tournament
@ Bridgewater, Mass. Cave Classic Tournament
Sat Nov 23
1:00 PM
Suffolk
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 23
2:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Nov 23
7:05 PM
Wentworth
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at St. Joseph (Conn.)
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wesleyan (Conn.)
View Full Schedule
Sun Mar 01
1:00 PM
Fitchburg St.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Mar 06
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Arcadia
Sat Mar 07
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Oswego
@ Arcadia, Pa.
Tue Mar 10
3:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
3:00 PM
New England Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 21
12:00 PM
Curry
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Nov 23
1:00 PM
Suffolk
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at St. Joseph (Conn.)
Sun Dec 01
1:00 PM
Dean College
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Dec 04
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Dec 07
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
Tue Dec 10
7:30 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Nov 20
7:00 PM
Suffolk
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Nov 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Bridgewater St.
Cave Classic Tournament
Sat Nov 23
TBA
Salve Regina
vs. Cave Classic Tournament
@ Bridgewater, Mass. Cave Classic Tournament
Sat Nov 30
2:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Eastern Nazarene
Wed Dec 04
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Dec 07
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Nov 22
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Nov 23
7:05 PM
Wentworth
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Nov 29
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
vs. Oswego
@ Utica, N.Y.
Sat Nov 30
TBA
Salve Regina
at TBD
Sat Dec 07
4:50 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Tue Dec 10
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at New England Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Nov 22
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Nov 23
2:00 PM
Endicott
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Nov 26
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wesleyan (Conn.)
Tue Dec 03
7:00 PM
Connecticut Col.
vs. Salve Regina
Fri Dec 06
2:00 PM
U. of New England
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Dec 07
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at U. of New England
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 15
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Clark University
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
vs. Salve Regina
Tue Feb 25
TBA
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Merchant Marine
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Kean
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
St. Joseph's (L.I.)
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Tue Feb 25
4:00 PM
Eastern Conn. St.
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Feb 29
1:00 PM
Simmons
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 04
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Dartmouth
Sat Mar 07
1:00 PM
Mount Holyoke
vs. Salve Regina
Sat Mar 14
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at New England Col.
Tue Mar 17
5:00 PM
Rhode Island Col.
vs. Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Wed Mar 11
4:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 11
6:00 PM
Johnson & Wales (RI)
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Mar 25
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Wed Mar 25
5:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Mass.-Boston
Fri Mar 27
TBA
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Fri Mar 27
TBA
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Thu Mar 26
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Springfield
Sat Mar 28
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Wed Apr 01
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Curry
Thu Apr 02
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Sat Apr 04
1:00 PM
Nichols
vs. Salve Regina
Wed Apr 08
4:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Fri Mar 20
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 21
at Bridgewater St.
Sat Mar 28
at UMass Dartmouth
Sat Apr 04
at Coast Guard
Sat Apr 11
at Trinity
Sat Apr 25
at CCC Championships
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Beacons win eighth straight with early goal against Seahawks

Jenna Park makes a save in last Saturday's game. (Photo by Tyler Benjamin)
Jenna Park makes a save in last Saturday's game. (Photo by Tyler Benjamin)

BOSTON, Mass. (October 8, 2019) - A Grace McGettrick (Marshfield, Mass.) goal in the eighth minute proved to be the only tally of the contest as women's soccer extended their win-streak to eight straight following a 1-0 victory over Salve Regina University Tuesday evening at James Cotter Field.

THE BASICS

UMass Boston 1, Salve Regina University 0

UMass Boston (11-2-0)
Salve Regina University (7-6-0)

HOW IT HAPPENED

McGettrick's game-winning tally, which was her sixth of the season, came off of a cross from fellow sophomore Allie Crawford (Kingston, Mass.).  Crawford hit a perfect corner kick to the far post, where McGettrick tapped the ball into the back of the net to give the Beacons the early advantage.

Following the score the Beacons would control the ball for nearly the entire first half, but would fail to capitalize on multiple opportunities. 

After the break, Salve Regina began to show life offensively, but could not break through the Beacons backline which was anchored by sophomore Dani Anderson (St. Augustine, Fla.) and Kenya Wade (Cambridge, Mass.). 

Crawford, had multiple chances from distance, but she was denied barely, by Salve Regina goalkeeper Jenna Park.

Park finished the loss, her sixth of the season, with nine saves, while her UMass Boston counterpart Maria Spylios (Leominster, Mass.) made just two stops.  Spylios became just the first Beacon goalkeeper since Dani Perkins '14 to record 10 wins in a season, as she improved to 10-2-0 overall.

BY THE NUMBERS

  • All-time the Beacons are now 4-0 against Salve Regina
  • The Beacons have now outscored the Seahawks 12-2 in their previous four meetings
  • Tonight's contest was the first meeting between UMB and SRU since 2013, which All-American Krista Ledin set the program record for goals scored in a game with five
  • Tuesday's shutout was the sixth of the year for Spylios
  • The Beacons outshot the Seahawks 20-7, 11-3 in shots on goal
  • UMass Boston also held a 11-1 advantage in corner kicks