Wed Jan 16
5:30 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Hope Happens Here
Wed Jan 16
7:30 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Hope Happens Here
Fri Jan 18
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
Sat Jan 19
7:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Tue Jan 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Tue Jan 22
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
Wed Jan 16
7:30 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Hope Happens Here
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Tue Jan 22
7:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Jan 26
3:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Wed Jan 30
7:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
3:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Wed Jan 16
5:30 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Hope Happens Here
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Tue Jan 22
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Roger Williams
Sat Jan 26
1:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Wed Jan 30
5:30 PM
Endicott
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
1:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Fri Jan 18
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Jan 19
7:05 PM
Wentworth
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Tue Jan 22
7:35 PM
Plymouth St.
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Western New Eng.
Sat Jan 26
7:05 PM
Western New Eng.
Salve Regina
Fri Feb 01
7:05 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Jan 19
7:00 PM
Franklin Pierce
Salve Regina
Fri Jan 25
7:05 PM
Salve Regina
at Becker
Sat Jan 26
7:00 PM
Becker
Salve Regina
Alumni Game
Fri Feb 01
7:00 PM
Nichols
Salve Regina
Sat Feb 02
2:40 PM
Salve Regina
at Nichols
Fri Feb 08
7:00 PM
U. of New England
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Clark University
Salve Regina
Wed Feb 27
4:00 PM
Wheaton (Mass.)
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 02
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Wed Mar 06
4:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Sun Mar 10
1:00 PM
Adams St.
Salve Regina
Wed Mar 13
3:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Colorado Col.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Sat Mar 02
1:00 PM
Simmons
Salve Regina
Thu Mar 07
7:00 PM
Mass.-Dartmouth
Salve Regina
Tue Mar 12
6:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Rhode Island Col.
Wed Mar 20
5:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Mount Holyoke
Sat Mar 23
12:00 PM
Salve Regina
at Gordon
Mon Mar 25
TBA
Southern Vt.
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
No events to show.
Tue Mar 26
TBA
Springfield
Salve Regina
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Gordon
Salve Regina
Tue Apr 02
TBA
Salve Regina
at Wentworth
Sat Apr 06
1:00 PM
Roger Williams
Salve Regina
Wed Apr 10
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Endicott
Sat Apr 13
1:00 PM
Curry
Salve Regina
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
Fri Mar 29
3:30 PM
Salve Regina
at Regis (Mass.)
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule
No events to show.
No events to show.
Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Gulls rally in third to beat Seahawks

Gulls rally in third to beat Seahawks

BEVERLY, Mass. – Trailing 3-1 entering the third period, the Endicott College women's ice hockey team erupted for three goals over a 6:49 span to defeat Salve Regina University, 4-3, on Saturday afternoon at Raymond J. Bourque Arena.

Freshman forward Caroline Hughes (Andover, Mass.) jump started the Gulls' comeback with her second goal of the season on the power play (10:51) via feeds from Meredith Vlachos (East Bridgewater, Mass./Bay State Breakers), and Courtney Walpole (Allen, Texas/Dallas Stars).

The trio then proceeded to link up once again on the game-tying goal 6:20 later as Walpole sniped home a shot past the glove of Salve Regina junior goaltender Colleen Marcik (Madison, Conn.) off passes from Vlachos and Hughes.

Thirty-nine seconds after Walpole evened the score at 3-3, sophomore forward Maggie Layo (Sandwich, Mass.) capitalized on the momentum for the hosts when she buried her team-leading fifth goal of the season – and second career game-winner – on a nice setup by freshman Meaghan Farragher (Bridgewater, Mass.).

Endicott netminder Vendela Jonsson (Linkoping, Sweden) put the clamps on the win down the stretch with two saves over the final 2:20 of action. Jonsson finished with a career-high 36 saves in the contest to improve to 6-3-2 on the season, while Marcik recorded 41 saves in the loss (3-5-2).

BEYOND THE BOX SCORE

  • The Gulls outshot the Seahawks, 45-39, but needed a 23-6 differential in the third to win the category after trailing 33-22 at the end of the second.
  • Endicott is 1-0-1 in the all-time series against Salve Regina. Both teams played to a 2-2 (OT) tie in their first-ever meeting on December 5 in Middletown, R.I.
  • Freshman forward Rachel Lustenring (Poughkeepsie, N.Y.) scored the first goal of the game for the Gulls at 7:04 of the first period. It was Lustenring's second goal of the season.
  • Jonsson stopped a penalty shot at the 16:03 mark of the first period to keep the deficit at 2-1 at the time.
  • Layo went 16-for-20 at the face-off circle, while Vlachos was 13-for-20.
  • Senior Danielle Phalon (Stoneham, Mass.) scored two goals in the loss to push her team-leading total to ten this season.
  • Freshman Taylor Chisholm (Discovery Bay, Calif.) netted the Seahawks only other goal at 7:04 of the first period.
  • Kimberly Spring (Kensington, Conn.) dished out two assists in the setback. She now has five total on the year.

WHAT'S NEXT

Endicott (8-4-2) travels to Middlebury on Saturday, January 16 for a non-conference matchup scheduled to start at 3 p.m. Salve Regina (5-5-2) visits Williams on Tuesday, January 12 at 7 p.m.